History of Peterview ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Discover the history of Peterview that dates all the way back to the 15th century of early settlers in Newfoundland and Labrador. Learn how Peterview was discovered through early settlers, permanent settlement and growth, first civic construction, and the council era.
The Beothuk Indian Camp (Late 1497's)
Peterview is a historic site due to the original residents, the Beothuk, who travelled to what is now known as Wigwam Point in the summer months for hunting and gathering. When Europeans travelled to Newfoundland in 1497, the Beothuk were found living across the island. The changing seasons meant that obtaining food and raw materials had to be done on a strict schedule. In the warmer months, it would have been possible to hunt seals, fish, and various bird species travelling to places such as Wigwam Point (formerly Sandy Point).
Permanent Settlement and Growth
John Peyton Jr. (1792-1879)
Students of Peterview School (1933)
First Civic Construction
The population has grown significantly since 1884 when Dominion Point (now known as Peterview) had only 32 people. Over the next six years, the population grew close to 100, enough that a Prayer House (Barracks) was built in 1910 by the citizens from their own logs. In 1911, the first Salvation Army officer, Lieutenant Sweetapple, was appointed. He would go on to become the first schoolteacher and teach in the Prayer House.
The Council Era
First Appointed Board of Trustee Members (1956)